KSSTA Awards

KSSTA-Jón Karlsson Young Researcher Award in Clinical Science

The KSSTA-Jón Karlsson Young Researcher Award in Clinical Science, is given to a first author who has published in KSSTA prior to the Congress, is under 40 years at the time of publication and will attend the ESSKA Congress. Authors may apply directly or be nominated.

The award is sponsored by Össur. The prize is Eur 4,000.
Application closed

KSSTA Best Paper Award

This award is given for the best paper published in the KSSTA Journal during the two years prior to the Congress. The winner will be selected by the editors of the KSSTA journal.

Award money: Eur 1,000
No application is necessary

KSSTA Best Reviewer Award

Each year, the Editor-in-Chief selects the winner(s) based on the number and quality of reviews performed, response to invitation and submission efficiency.

No application is necessary

Roll of Honour

2018:  KSSTA-Jón Karlsson Young Researcher Award in Clinical Science

  • Elmar Herbst (Germany)
  • Sufian Ahmad (Switzerland)

2016-2017 KSSTA Best Paper Award

  • Joris Radboud Lansdaal et al:  “Early weight bearing versus delayed weight bearing in medial opening wedge high tibial osteotomy: a randomized controlled trial
  • Lennart Hovelius and Hans Rahme : “Primary anterior dislocation of the shoulder: long‑term prognosis at the age of 40 years or younger

2017 KSSTA Best Reviewer Award

  • Elmar Herbst (Germany)
  • Baris Kocoaglu (Turkey)

2016 KSSTA Best Reviewer Award

  • Nobuo Adachi (Japan)
  • Gunnar Knutsen (Norway)
  • Reha Tandogan (Turkey)

2014-2015 KSSTA Best Paper Award

  • F. Stensbirk et al: “Iliotibial band autograft versus bone-patella-tendon-bone autograft, a possible alternative for ACL reconstruction: a 15-year prospective randomized controlled trial
  • S. Ulstein et al: “Microfracture technique vs osteochondral autologous transplantation mosaicplasty in patients with articular chondral lesions of the knee: a prospective

2015 KSSTA Best Reviewer Award

  • Antonia Chen (USA)
  • Jon Olav Drogset (Norway)
  • Ryosuke Kuroda (Japan)

2014 KSSTA Best Reviewer Award

  • Christoph Becher (Germany)
  • Emmanuel Thienpont (France)
  • Kristín Briem (Iceland)